Archive for the ‘Disco’ Category

Throwback Thursday: Ecstasy, Passion & Pain – Touch and Go [1976]

Heard last week at Mister Sunday.

Track of the Week: Skylevel – Watch Your Step

New Mix: Summer Set

A new summer mix for you all to enjoy on these warm evenings by the pool.


Marvin Gaye – Got to Give It Up Pt. 1
Moodymann – People
Blue Daisy & Anneka – Raindrops (John Talabot’s Cosmic Rework)
Motor City Drum Ensemble – Raw Cuts #3
Sunday Girl – Self Control (Azari & III Remix)
Junior Boys – Hazel (Ewan Pearson’s Extended Disco Edit)
Feist – Inside Out (Hannes Fischer Edit)
Klangkarussell – Sonnentanz
PillowTalk – Sunny
KC & the Sunshine Band- I’m Your Boogie Man
Hercules & Love Affair – Blind (Frankie Knuckles Remix)
Whirlpool Productions – From: Disco To: Disco
Matias Aguayo – Minimal (DJ Koze Remix)
Terranova & Everybody – Hotel Amour (Rampa Mix)
Kasper Bjorke – Heaven (Nicolas Jaar Remix)

Best New Music: I:Cube’s “M” Megamix

I:Cube, one half of the French house duo Chateau Flight, has just released yet another fantastic album. I’m feeling slightly lazy on writing up my own review, so here’s some great words from FACT:

“M” Megamix is 24 tracks long, and the way that these tracks interact and fall into each other, with no boring intros and clotted breakdowns, is what makes the whole experience of this record so impactful. Many of them, however, stand out as worthy of individual praise: ‘Transparent Sea Creatures’ rolls out heavily reverberated breakbeats – think Shed piloting a submarine […].

Here are some of my favorite tracks:

Bajo Bajo
Transparent Sea Creatures
In Alpha
Club Miniature
Le Rocher Aux Singes

We’re Free!

It’s insane how fast time flies, and it’s unfortunate that it takes a lifetime to learn how to live. But that’s how things go. Last year this time, I was on my way to Berghain for the very first time after an amazing semester in Paris to have the most exciting two weekends of my life. This time around, I’m getting ready to graduate in a few days and preparing to enter the real world. But before the real world comes around, I’m trying to enjoy right now. That is, the only time in my life that I’m ever going to have this little amount of responsibility. I know I have a bunch of friends in the same boat, so if you’re sitting out in the sun as you should be thinking of absolutely nothing, here are two sets that may just make your freedom slightly more enjoyable.

Congrats on all the hard work guys, it’s been one hell of an adventure.

Spring Mix Live on WNYU Radio 04/22/12


Moodymann – People
Osborne – Wait A Minute
Gold Panda – You (Osborne Remix)
John Talabot – Leave Me (Friendly Pattern Version)
Storm Queen – Look Right Through
Ben Klock & Precious System – In A While / The Voice From Planet Love (Dixon Edit)
No Regular Play – Takin’ U Back
Kolombo – Waiting For (Michael Mayer Remix)
John Spring – Drummachines (Mike Huckaby Remix)
Moby – Lie Down In Darkness (Michael Mayer Remix)
Matias Aguayo – Minimal (DJ Koze Remix)
Motor City Drum Ensemble – L.O.V.E.
Gavin Herlihy – Get Loose
Moodymann – Tribute (To The Soul We Lost)
Boo Williams – Day And Night
Nina Kraviz – Ghetto Kravis (Alexkid Edit)
Out Hud – It’s For You
Motor City Drum Ensemble – There’s A Truth feat. Stee Downes
Michael Mayer – Amanda
Christophe – The Force (Julio Bashmore Piano Mix)
Mr G – Get On Down
Metro Area – Miura
Fred Falke & Alan Braxe – Intro
Morgan Geist – Detroit (Carl Craig Remix)
Terranova – Question Mark feat. Tracey Thorn (KiNK feat. Rachel Row Remix)
Osunlade – Envision (Argy Vocal Mix)
Manuel Tur – Foolin’
DJ Sneak – Babylon Fallin’

Return top